Epsom Derby Betting

Regarded as one of the most prestigious and important races in the horse racing calendar, the Derby, run at Epsom in June, is the second most-watched televised horse race of the year,only bettered by the Grand National. Run over 12 furlongs, the race brings together the worlds best three yearold horses to claim Flat racing's most cherished prize.

There are plenty of free bet soffers to spend on the Epsom Derby, and we will bring you the latest on all the action. The first race was run in 1780 and was won by Diomed, ever since the race has had an uncanny knack of producing some top quality winning horses, owners and trainers.

Multiple Derby winning trainers is a hard task to achieve in the modern-era due to the competitiveness and money now involved in the breeding game.

Sir Michael Stoute leads the way in that department with five wins to his name his most famous being Shergar in 1981, whilst young pretender Aidan O'Brien has won the race three times, most recently with the high-class Camelot, who ran out perhaps the most impressive Derby winner for a generation in 2012.

Jockey wise Lester Piggott is widely regarded as the best jockey to have rode in the Derby, courtesy of his nine wins in the race, ranging from Never Say Dies to Teenosos.. Some of the greatest modern-era Derby winners include the great Authorized, who was, and still is, Frankie Dettoris only winner in the race.

New Approach won the 2007 renewal for trainer Jim Bolger despite the trainer leaving the horse in the entry list by mistake, whilst the unbeaten Sea The Stars won the Derby before going on to succeed in the Prix d'Arc De Triomphe later in the year.

The 2013 renewal is shaping up to be a cracker, with Aidan O'Brien likely to be strong handed with Mars (10/1 Ladbrokes) at this moment looking like his strong contender.

But one that may be a live outsider if making it to Epsom could be Move To Strike (25/1), who is trained by the shrewd Bolger.