Irish 2000 Guineas Betting

The Irish 2000 Guineas is the first Classic of the Irish flat season, and is run at the Curragh over a mile.

It is restricted for three-year-old colts and fillies and is key race for trainers and owners to target.

Established in 1921, the race itself usually attracts horses that has finished in the English 2000 Guineas at Newmarket, and it is very common for the winner of that race to go for the Guineas double at the Curragh.

Right Track was the first horse to achieve the feat, and since six more horses have followed suit, with the brilliant Henrythenavigator the latest to do the double.

Some of the best racehorses in racing history have triumphed in the Irish 2000 Guineas with the likes of Grundy, Sadler's Wells and Rodrigo De Triano all jumping off the page when trawling through the past winners list. Much like all the major racing in Ireland Aidan O'Brien has a sensational recent record in the race.

The master of Ballydoyle has saddled seven eight horses to win the race, and has won four of the last five renewals.

The Sir Alex Ferguson-owned Rock Of Gibraltar is perhaps O'Brienís classiest winner of the race in 2002, who subsequently went unbeaten in the UK for the remainder of his career, winning the St Jamesí Palace Stakes and Sussex Stakes along the way.

The 2012 renewal, unsurprisingly, was won by O'Brien inmate Power, who scored under O'Brienís son Joseph Ė his second victory in the race after the game Roderic O'Connor won the 2011 renewal. There are some strong trends to follow if planning on having a bet in the race.

In the last ten years, the winner has always been in the first four of the betting and has always run in the English 2000 Guineas.