Racing Post Trophy Odds

The Racing Post Trophy is seen as one the main two-year-old races of the season and is run at Doncaster. Run over a mile, it usually goes a long way to crown the champion two-year-old and has given significant pointers over the years to how the next year's 2000 Guineas will be run.

The event was established in 1961, and it was originally called the Timeform Gold Cup, but since 1989 the specialist betting newspaper the Racing Post has taken over the sponsorship rights and have a famous association with Doncaster.

If you fancy a bet on the Racing Post Trophy don't forget to take a look at our horse racing guides, which feature the latest articles to aid you with your tipping as well as a list of horse racing bets to pick up from secure and respected online bookmakers from the UK.

With the race being a Group One, it is relied on to produce a real top-class winner. Some of the best horses in Flat racing have taken the illustrious Racing Post Trophy on their way to bigger and better things as a three-year-old.

The likes of High Chaparral, Authorized and Motivator all have won the Racing Post Trophy before going on to become one of the best horses in Europe the following season. One trainer has a special association with the race having won it ten times and he is the legendary Sir Henry Cecil.

His most memorable victory was with Reference Point in 1987. Two horses have gone onto win the Derby following a Racing Post Trophy win, first the aforementioned Reference Point and then Camelot in 2011, who went onto win at Epsom the following season for trainer Aidan O'Brien.

Camelot was perhaps the most impressive Racing Post Trophy winner of a generation and ended up dominating the three-year-old season, by winning the 2000 Guineas, Derby and Irish Derby.

The 2012 renewal is shaping up to be a great race with a whole host of two-year-old colts looking to stake their claim. O'Brien should be targeting his top-two-year-old at the race with the most likely being classy performer Mars.